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Our proprietary system goes way beyond leads and gets you appointments that convert to
actual sales. Guaranteed.
ARE YOU A HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTOR OR SERVICE PROVIDER?
Our entire focus is on getting you calls, appointments, and sales. We want to fill your job calendar.
We can help you no matter where you are in the United States or Canada.
Bathroom Remodel ♦ Counter-top Remodel ♦ Electrical ♦ House Cleaning ♦ HVAC ♦ Kitchen Remodel ♦ Landscaping ♦ Paving/Cement ♦ Pest Control ♦ Plumbing ♦ Remodeling ♦ Roofing ♦ Water Damage ♦ Window Replacement
Zero Out Of Pocket If You Qualify
We understand finding customers can be frustrating and overwhelming. Paying crews and technicians for standing around because of a lack of jobs is painful. The internet was supposed to make it easy, right? Instead, it's been expensive, confusing, and ineffective.
But that's because you've been getting bad and/or incomplete advise.
We promise to listen and to only recommend solutions that are ideal for you. We promise to do the hard work of finding and attracting new people to your business -- not just leads, because leads suck! We promise to get you calls, appointments, and sales.
Your Path To More Customers and More Sales
(How Are You Doing In These Six Areas?)
Nothing happens until someone becomes aware of you. We attract eyeballs to your site.
Is the messaging on your site capturing visitors' attention and interest? Or is it scaring them off? We help you create a compelling message that gets visitors to raise their hands.
Your site needs to give visitors a reason to call you or fill out a form. 95% of website visitors leave without taking action. We help you capture contact information -- even after they leave your site.
People get busy. People are forgetful. You need to keep reminding people who expressed interest to keep their appointments or to drop in. We do that for you. Automatically.
When prospects call or come in or get a quote, what you or your staff says and how they say it can kill the sale or seal the deal. We work with you and your staff to drastically improve sales conversions.
The hardest and most expensive sale you'll make is the first one. Yet most businesses fail to keep the customer coming back over and over again. We help you keep in contact and strengthen your relationship long after the first check is cashed.
Contact Us To Grow Your Business Today
These systems currently create 7,000+ phone calls to businesses each month. 60-80% of leads who schedule appointments actually show up. Our implementation team is a Google Channel Partner that manages over $2,000,000 in ad a month. $25,000,000 overall.
You Can Try Us With Confidence.
Don't Just Take Our Word For it...
Keith has helped me immensely with my marketing. I was lost when I began my sales efforts. Keith introduced me to programs that would help my website and ideas to create upcoming programs.
Keith has the expertise to advise anyone through the rigors of marketing today. I would happily recommend him to my friends.
Working with Keith has changed my view of marketing dramatically. He’s helped me prioritize my marketing strategies and focus on defining my goals. Implementation of my most important marketing ideas has been a huge breakthrough for me, and my practice has benefitted greatly in terms of the number of patients we see each week.
I highly recommend Keith to those practice owners who share my struggles with trying to manage their own marketing while still seeing enough patients to generate a comfortable income. Keith’s advice has truly enriched my practice!
Keith didn’t slap some trite marketing formula on me – he listened; he asked questions. Keith’s instincts and suggestions made my offer more irresistible every time we talked. He focused on specific details, but always with the larger picture in mind. When I read our final draft…even I want to sign up!
Had 20 total sales in October last year. Implemented this system and had 100 new sales this year.
60 new sales in just 60 days.
Had ZERO sales in December last year. Implemented this system and had 400 new sales this year.
35 new sales in just one month.
43 new sales in 4 weeks.
Doubled sales in just 2 weeks.
100% Risk Free: Find out if this will work for your company
Zero Out Of Pocket If You Qualify
Get Your Free
Subscription To Express Marketing Magazine
Your monthly resource guide for small business marketing. Each month we cover important, timely, and actionable topics to help local businesses just like yours grow.
We want to enable you to do big things by breaking down the sometimes complex topics of marketing your business online and off. (Value: $24 / year)
Targeted Paid Traffic Strategies
Fastest, Easiest Way to Find Ready-To-Buy Customers
When you use our tools and strategies, you'll get your perfect message out to a highly targeted audience in your local area but on national and global websites. You will maximize your reach based on interest and location whether on their desktop or phone.
Through our analytics and reporting, we can test media and messages for constantly improving results.
Stunning Websites That Convert
Turn More Visitors Into Paying Customers
Most websites do a poor job of driving sales. How about yours?
We've studied and tested to find what works and what doesn't. It's not only about looking great and it's not just about giving good information.
We have a proven process that gives you the best chance of turning site visitors into customers.
Our websites are mobile-ready, load fast, rank well, and convert. Blow away your competition by having us design a new website for you today.
Automated Follow Up
Speed Matters. Timing Matters. Consistency Matters.
Did you know that responding to leads within five minutes improved results by 900%! and that it takes
at minimum 8 touches just to get a conversation with a new lead. You're not doing either of those things, right?
Of course not. Who has the time for that?? You have a business to run. We can do it for you! That's because we have the technology and systems to automate 80% of the work.
Let us increase your sales by following up with your leads for you.
Bring Them Back To Your Site
Double Your Sales
94% of visitors leave your site without taking action. Gone forever. Probably to hire your competitor. UNLESS you let us work our magic. We can make sure your name, message, and offer continue to be seen by your prospects virtually everywhere and all the time.
If they came to your site once, then they had some level of interest. They're probably the hottest prospects you can find. Our Omni System keeps you in front of them on Facebook, YouTube, Gmail, CNN, Yahoo, ESPN, Twitter, WebMD, TechCrunch... practically anywhere they go.
And when thy're ready to buy, you'll be on the top of their mind.
DOUBLE The Conversion Rate!
COLD TRAFFIC CASE STUDY
How would you like to covert 112% better than industry averages? That's with cold traffic -- that is, people who were hearing about the business for the first time. That's 2 times better. Double!
We'd love to show you how we did it for this client.
NOT SURE WHAT YOU YOU NEED OR WHERE TO START?
Take our free, online self-evaluation.
No need to talk to anyone -- unless you want to. No one will call.
These Marketing Myths Are Costing You Money:
(Click a myth to expand it.)
Our investment in technology and processes means we can deliver results previously only available to larger businesses. Nearly any business can benefit from our strategies, though a smaller business would probably start out slower. We'd love to show you how can grow your sales by up to 300% or more.
When you have the right design, content, offers, and processes, you don't need thousands of monthly visitors. We will work with you to find a strategy to get enough visitors to your website and get you a positive and satisfying ROI.
Graphical designers have been spreading this myth even before the internet existed. Ads, brochures, and websites do not make sales by looking great. You need a compelling offer, a 5-star reputation, and content that walks your visitors through a specific path. AND it should look good, too. We can show you how to improve your website or build you one that converts visitors to sales.
Why Choose Us?
Dedicated To Finding You New Customers In As Little As 30 Days
We only work with home improvement contractors and service providers who serve their local regions. We GET you.
We have built a set of proprietary strategies, technology, and processes that allow us to deliver massive results at a lower price than you'd expect. Our unique approach to marketing can make a difference in your business in as little as a few days or weeks.
Our strategies are designed to produce maximum results with minimum effort and cost. We focus on core principles and ignore the fluff. Our formula is simple but powerful: Find new customers, engage them, and convert them. We do what we do best so you can focus on what you do best.
We know that local contractors seldom have the time or resources to keep up with the latest strategies that bring in new business. We like to work with business owners who are passionate about providing a high quality product or service because we are passionate about providing those owners waves of new customers.
Listen To Why Clients Like You Love Us:
Keith, you’ve made it surprisingly easy to implement the concepts and examples from my book. Kudos! Now anyone can use The Magic Bullet to kick out dynamite, targeted headlines in minutes — without the mind-numbing effort and time investment that great headlines usually require. It’s a real time (and energy) saver that can be used for any type of ad, sales letter, brochure, postcard and more. Highly recommended!
Imagine if your business had a predictable stream of new jobs landing in your lap each and every month.
What would that mean for you, your business,
and your employees?
Will the Perpetual Customers System Work for you?
IT WILL. IF...
Our entire focus is working with home improvement contractors and service providers, so you can be sure we understand how to increase your sales and take your business to the next level... and beyond.
Our passion is creating success stories. But we can't do it alone and we won't drag you across the finish line. Your enthusiasm and commitment is crucial if we're going to help you DOMINATE your market.
Your income won't change if your practices don't change. We'll bring people to your door and/or get your phone ringing but you still need to close the deal. Your staff may need to do things differently to increase conversions. We can help with that.
No amount of quality marketing will make up for shoddy work or a bad reputation. That's like thinking singing louder will make up for being off-key. If you're good at what you do, you'll do great!
Listen, we're good. But we're not a magic lamp. If you keep your expectations realistic and give our system a chance, you WILL experience a drastically positive ROI. We guarantee it.
This is the value a customer brings to your business over the lifetime of their relationship with you.
This number is the single most useful metric for making business decisions. It will determine how much you can afford to (and should) spend to acquire a new customer. It will guide your decisions about what kind of customer to target and what your most profitable products and services are.
The simplest way to calculate LTV is to take the average value per transaction times the average number of times a customer buys in a year times the number of years they tend to stay with you.
For example, a residential window cleaner might charge $260 for an average size home. Maybe the profit on that is $150. If the typical customer has their windows cleaned twice a year, then that customer is worth $300 in profit per year. If they tend to stay with the cleaner for 5 years, the average customer is worth $1,500.
That's, $150 x 2 x 5 = $1,500.
Without knowing this metric, a window cleaner might feel foolish spending $200 to acquire a new customer. They would see that as a $50 loss. But if the business owner understands the lifetime value of a customer, he might be willing to spend $300 to $500 to attract a new customer. He or she knows that means a profit of $1,000 to $1,200 over 5 years. That's a 200 to 400% ROI!
This understanding also gives the business owner the key to massive business growth. In the above example, what if, through advertising and incentives, they could increase the average number of cleanings from 2 to 3 times a year. Now we've got a lifetime value of:
$150 x 3 x 5 = $2,250.
AND, what if through loyalty programs, the average customer could be coaxed to stay with the cleaner for 5 years instead of 6?
$150 x 3 x 6 = $2,700.
AND, what if the owner offered upsells and cross sells and/or raised prices so the average transaction was $175 instead of $150?
$175 x 3 x 6 = $3,150
If the business has 200 regular customers, they've increased their six year profit from $300,00 to $630,000!
Those are life changing numbers. A savvy business owner with this knowledge will run circles around the competition who doesn't understand this.
It could be any combination of multiple reasons. Is it getting traffic? If people aren't seeing your website, it can't convert them into customers. Is your site well designed? An ugly or unprofessional site will turn people away. How fast does it load? People are impatient with websites and if your site doesn't load quickly, they'll often just hit the Back button. How well does your site tell your visitors what you can do for them and why they should care?
What's your online reputation? Most people check out online reviews before making a decision. If you don't have any, or if a lot of them are negative, people won't take a chance on you.
Even if all the above is well done, the reality is a single visit is hardly ever enough to get someone to take action. 96% of the people who come to your site leave without contacting you. You need a way to connect to those 9 out of 10 people. We do that in two ways. First, we try to capture their contact information so we can follow up with them. Second, we do what's called, "retargeting". See the separate question on that, below.
It depends on where you are right now. I'd say the priorities are:
If you have a non existent or negative reputation online then that's an important place to start. No point in singing louder if you're off-key. Let's build you a 5-star reputation before you spend time and money on other things.
You need to look at how good your website is at telling your story, building interest and credibility, and giving visitors a reason to take action now. If your website isn't doing those things, there's not much point in spending time and money on getting traffic to your site.
What are you doing now to get eyeballs on your website? It doesn't matter how good your website is if no one sees it. If you're not getting a steady stream of qualified visitors.
Do you have a follow-up system in place. Once people have raised their hands, saying they're interested, by visiting your site, do you have a system for keeping in contact with them? 94% of the people who come to a website leave without taking action. You need a way to reconnect with them so you have a chance of building a relationship that ends in a sale. That's also true with your customers. Are you staying in contact with them after they buy? Showing you care? Educating them? Giving them reasons to come back and buy again? Existing customers are the best customers and they're the least expensive to market to, so you need a system for bringing them back again and again.
If you've got those four systems in place and still not getting the sales you want, then we need to look at ways of improving each of them. Small, consistent improvement in all four of those processes will bring massive ROI over time. The key is to test, evaluate, and adjust.
The first and obvious thing is to make sure you're delivering great service and great value. No company pleases everyone but if the vast majority of your customers are thrilled with their transaction with you, you'll never fix your online reputation. You need to look at every touch point your customers have with anyone in your company and evaluate how you're doing.
But just being great isn't enough. Sadly, it's the disgruntled customers that tend to be more motivated to leave reviews. And those tend to be negative. They feel the need to vent. So, you need a system to give those unhappy customers a way to complain to YOU before they feel compelled to complain to the world. Take their feedback seriously and do what you can to make it right and more often than not, they'll become happy customers. Some even become your greatest fans.
You also need to encourage your happy customers to leave reviews. The way to do that is to have a system in place so that EVERY customer is asked to leave a review. And that usually means one or more gentle reminders. This will drastically increase the ratio of positive to negative reviews.
Finally, when you get positive reviews, shout it from the rooftops. Tell the world. Put them on your website. Include them in your marketing. Positive reviews make new prospects comfortable enough to trust you with their dollars.
The quickest way to get qualified prospects to your website is to pay for the "traffic". It's often the most cost effective, as well. You pay for traffic by placing image and video ads on the websites and social media your ideal prospects visit. You're able to show your ads primarily to the age groups, gender, geographical region, and interests that make up your ideal customer.
There are two primary types of paid traffic.
One is based on search terms. That is, when a person searches for a particular topic or answer to a question or anything else, your ad shows up what that search is related to your offer. When done right, these are highly effective because people are actively searching for a solution related to what you can provide.
The other is based on interests. This is where your ad shows up on websites that your ideal customer is LIKELY to be browsing. For exaqmple, if you sell golf training or gadgets, your ideal customer is going to be browing sites like golfchannel.com, golfbusinessnews.com, golfdigest.com, pgatour.com, and sports.com. You can have your ad show on only those sites. If you're a local store, you can show your ad on those sites only to people in or near your city. These kinds of ads are great because you can catch people's interest while they're reading things related to your product or service but they're not actively searching for your product or service. It opens you up to a much wider market.
We recommend a combination of both kinds of paid traffic.
First of all, you want to make sure you're not left behind. Statistics uncovered by Wyzowl show that 63% of businesses have started using video in their marketing. 82% of these businesses have stated video is an important part of their strategy. Even more significant is that 83% of them say using video gives them a healthy ROI.
Video is among the most versatile and profitable marketing strategies available.
Adding video to landing pages increases conversion by 80%.
74% of users who watched a video about a product bought it.
90% of consumers watch videos on their mobile phones. YouTube states that video watching on mobile rises 100% every year.
68% of consumers perfer watching an "explainer" video over reading.
Video ads get a much higher average click-through-rate than text or image ads.
Video stimulates both visual and auditory senses and offers a chance to connect on an emotional level. Video builds trust.
Google loves video and ranks them well, so video can help with search engine traffic. In fact, you are 53 times (5300 PERCENT) more likely to show up on the first page of google if you have a video on your website.
Video content is more likely to be shared across social networks than text or images -- especially if it's a fun and entertaining video.
There are many ways to use videos in your marketing. You can use video to explain your product or service, come across as a likable expert, and create an emotional connection to your audience. Just not all in the same video!
Our favorite uses of video in marketing are: showcasing 5 star reviews, featuring YOU as an interviewed expert, and presenting discount offers.
If you really want to increase sales, you need to be in regular contact with your prospects and customers. Email is the best way to do that because it's direct, cost effective, and it works. It allows you to nurture prospects (people who have shown interest but haven't yet bought) into customers and customers into repeat customers.
Despite the onslought of spam and unsolicited email, 91% of consumers check their email on a daily basis -- many of them multiple times a day. No other communication channel comes close. Email produces an ROI as high as 3800%. That's MASSIVE! The average value of a sale through email is at least three times higher than sales from social media.
We believe texting and ringless voice mail should be part of the communication mix.
Your first step is to encourage your visitors and customers to give you their contact information and permission to communicate with them. Usually you do this by offering an incentive of some kind.
Then you need a system and strategy for contacting them on a regular basis with education, relationship building content, and special offers.
Retargeting is the ability to keep your message or offer in front of people who've come to your website, landing page, or blog. These people expressed interest in your company by visiting your website so they're you're ideal market. They will see your branding, reviews, and offers long after they've left your page and so you have a great chance of catching their attention when they're ready to buy.
You need to understand that these people visited your site because they had SOME level of interest in your company or your offer. But for whatever reason, they weren't ready to buy right now. Studies show it takes 8 or more "connections" to move a person from curious to interest to ready to buy.
Our proprietary strategy maximizes your brand and reaches your past visitors for months with a multi-channel, multiple-message approach that costs far less than sending postcards.
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by this time next week.
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Note: That's City Hall. We don't take visitors at our office, but are happy to meet at your office or at a nearby coffee shop. We do 90% of our work remotely, without ever meeting face to face.
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Herriman, Utah 84096
Free Self Evaluation
Frequently Asked Questions
Why Choose Us?
Our entire focus in on helping home improvement contractors and service providers get more calls, appointments, and sales.. You have unique needs and we know how to meet them.
Our proprietary strategies and technology are highly effective at getting you results. That is, more visitors, more prospects, and more sales.
We would like to take most of the burden of marketing off your shoulders so you can focus on running your business. Let us help you be the hero of your business.